Euro 2016 Draw: England to play Wales in France
13th December 2015

England will face Wales at next summer’s European Championship in France after the two home nations were drawn together in Group B.

The Three Lions, who won all of their 10 qualifying games, take on the Dragons, who are appearing in their first major championship since 1958.

Five days before their clash on June 16 in Lens, Roy Hodgson’s side face Russia, while Wales play Slovakia in their group openers.

18th November 2014 - International Friendly Football - Scotland v England - England manager Roy Hodgson - Photo: Simon Stacpoole / Offside.

Roy Hodgson’s England will play Wales in Lens on June 16

Northern Ireland will play world champions Germany, Poland and Ukraine in Group C on their European Championship debut.

Michael O’Neill’s side secured their country qualification to a major tournament for the first time since 1986, but now face a tough task in advancing to the knockout stage.

Republic of Ireland also face a tricky test next summer after they were drawn alongside Belgium, Sweden and Italy in Group E.

29/03/2015 Ireland v Poland - EURO 2016 Qualifier Group D Ireland's Manager Martin O'Neill Photo: John Halas

Martin O’Neill’s Ireland will play Sweden, Italy and Belgium

Martin O’Neill’s side advanced to the finals after defeating beating Bosnia and Herzegovina in the play-offs.

Elsewhere, hosts France will kick-off the tournament against Romania at the Stade de France on June 10.

The 1984 and 2000 winners will also face Switzerland and debutants Albania.

Double defending champions Spain will have to advance from a group containing Czech Republic, Turkey and Croatia if they are to mount a challenge to win the trophy for the third time in a row.

The top two from each group, plus the four best third place finishers will advance to the last-16.

Group A – France, Albania, Romania and Switzerland
Group B – England, Wales, Slovakia and Russia
Group C – Germany, Northern Ireland, Poland and Ukraine
Group D – Spain, Turkey, Czech Republic and Croatia
Group E – Belgium, Republic of Ireland, Sweden and Italy
Group F – Portugal, Iceland, Hungary and Austria

Share This Post On

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *